Five Good Things for 12/8/2015

Five things I encountered today that were interesting, educational, beautiful, edifying or that I otherwise found to be…well, good. None of these are promotions and I do not receive any benefit from sharing them. I just like them.

It’s time for the annual end-of-year onset anxiety, complete with a constant nervous feeling, too much work to do, and even more disrupted sleep than usual. I’m going to try to keep up at least with a daily links post, but I don’t know how much else I will get done until the New Year. Then everything will be shiny and new and different and I’ll sleep like a baby and find keeping up with work and writing a total breeze… right? Oh well, till then, enjoy some awesomeness from the internet.

giphy (2)1) Rare Exports might be my new favorite Christmas movie. I don’t want to say too much and spoil anything, but it’s a Finnish horror movie about the horrors experienced in a small town when the real Santa Claus is unearthed from his tomb. Hilarious, scary, and just plan weird if you haven’t experienced it, you need to.

56197-Oh-I-Cant-Believe-My-Eyes2) PBS has a video of a live from Lincoln Center performance of some of Danny Elfman’s most memorable music scores, including some from the Nightmare Before Christmas, featuring Elfman singing. It’s a great retrospective on a long, iconic career, and so much fun to hear Jack Skellington come to life.

giphy.gif3) Tis the season for Trader Joe’s to be full of the most impossibly delicious things known to man, which only get better and more numerous with each passing year. This year my addiction is their dark chocolate shortbread stars. I cannot even describe how amazing they are. I eat them by the handful. I would grind them into a powder and snort them if I could. I can’t even talk about the mint ones. Buy them. Eat them. Get fat. Be happy.

4) It’s Hanukkah this week! Let the Maccabeats educate you about the holiday with their single “Candlelight”, which I promise will be in your head for the rest of the month.

tumblr_mesc3eCjVB1qzoaqio1_r2_400.gif5) And if that song gave you latke cravings, here’s a fabulous basic recipe to get you started. I love them with applesauce or sour cream. Pair with brisket and some kugel and you’ve got a feast. Happy Hanukkah everyone!

Leave a Reply

