Five Good Things – Thanksgiving Food Edition

Five things I encountered today that were interesting, educational, beautiful, edifying or that I otherwise found to be…well, good. None of these are promotions and I do not receive any benefit from sharing them. I just like them.

Thanksgiving draws nigh, so I thought instead of my usual round-up of links from the dark corners of the net, I’d share some of my best Turkey Day recipes instead. If you’re in need of inspiration, look no further!

20121108-spatchcock-turkey-food-lab-121) Spatchcocked turkey. To be fair, I’m only trying this for the first time this year but I’m excited and Alton Brown has never steered me wrong once. The final product may look funny and the name may make you giggle, but I have on good authority that a dry-brined, spatchcocked turkey is the best way to go. Serious Eats has a great instructional video if you’re unclear on how this works.

IMG_0606-560x8402) These rolls are my favorite part of Thanksgiving. I would just eat them forever. They are flakey and buttery and miles beyond store bought, or even any other crescent rolls I’ve made before. Yes, they’re a bit of work but you can do the cold dough a day in advance and then shape and let rise on Thanksgiving itself. Definitely worth it.

b9e21e7ee19395aa2845fd238f1dff7e_f7763) Despite my efforts to hide it, in my breast beats a very German heart. Sauerkraut. Every kind of braten possible. Schnitzel. I love it all. So for Thanksgiving I’m making the traditional German style mulled wine, Gluehwein. It’s red wine cooked with sugar and spices and served, in my case, with a shot of amaretto. It’s very delicious and also medicinal: I prescribe it to myself to survive prolonged, intense family time.

buttermilk-pie-crust-54) The perfect pie crust is elusive. While I’ve yet to try the holy grail of pie crusts, the all-lard pie crust, I’ve long made a very successful all-butter crust. But discovering this recipe has seriously upped my game. It has a much higher butter-to-flour ratio than I’ve used before, and I actually cut the flour to 2 cups to increase it even more. Using buttermilk instead of water increases the richness and flakiness of the crust. It’s so simple but totally addictive, especially in a doubt crust pie like apple or peach.

apple-donut-wedding-favors-1.jpg5) I love apple cider, and we’re luck enough to have a place to get it pressed right in front of us. I made these apple cider donuts last Thanksgiving morning, to tide us over while we went to the zoo to see the elephants stomp their Thanksgiving pumpkin and they were a huge hit. Doughy and dense with a super-intense apple flavor you definitely only need one. Okay, maybe two.

Leave a Reply

