Five Good Things for 11/23/2015

Five things I encountered today that were interesting, educational, beautiful, edifying or that I otherwise found to be…well, good. None of these are promotions and I do not receive any benefit from sharing them. I just like them.

I’m a little late getting this up, but I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend. I had a very relaxing one myself – saw friends, went to the farm market, binged watched all of Jessica Jones… Of course all my relaxation was erased by waking up at 3 am this morning after sleeping perfectly well Friday and Saturday nights. But that’s just how I roll. Here’s some goodness to ease you into your (abbreviated) week!

31) Horseback riding and fishing may not seem like related activities, except maybe if you ride a horse to your favorite fishing spot. But these fishing horses of Belgium do much more than just provide transport – they help trawl and haul in the catch. What cool and strong animals!

download (2)2) Arrested Development might be the funniest sitcom ever made and is certainly queen of the running gag. The gags are so on-going and complex, in fact, that you might despair of ever catching all of them. NPR has a solution for this – they’ve developed an interactive chart of all the repeating gags and how they relate to each other over the course of all four seasons. Impressive. I think my favorite running joke, though, is that Tobias is actually a Black man.

3) Think your family will never get along this holiday? Adele can help.

download (3)4) Happy 52nd birthday, Doctor Who (although the birthday of The Doctor remains sadly shrouded in mystery). Nerdist has a compilation of the very first moments of the first eleven doctors for your nostalgic pleasure.

5) Shrieking eels? How about glowing eels? There are more biofluorescent fishes and marine critters than you might think!

Leave a Reply

