Five Good Things for 11/19/2015

Five things I encountered today that were interesting, educational, beautiful, edifying or that I otherwise found to be…well, good. None of these are promotions and I do not receive any benefit from sharing them. I just like them.

Last night we went out to an amazing little restaurant called The Tin Angel and splurged. We got a bunch of small plates and an entree each and cocktails. So that’s our eating out budget for the next three months, but it was totally worth it. The highlights were the pork empanada with harissa sauce, the calamari with bread to dip in the juices, and the speck-wrapped shrimp. If you’re in the area, definitely go try The Tin Angel.  But for now, here are some less edible but still wonderful things for your day.

FIGA960H.png1) Like most of America, I will be seeing the final installment of the Hunger Games movies this weekend. I’m really excited for it. Cracked has a great, if poorly titled, article about themes in the movies: “6 Bizarre Messages You Didn’t Notice In ‘The Hunger Games'”. It really should be called “6 Ways Themes in Dystopian Science Fiction Have Changed Over Time and What It Can Tell Us About Our Collective Psyche”. Definitely worth a read if you’re a sci-fi and/or Hunger Games fan.

2) I love this Toys R Us commercial featuring a father and daughter bonding over Star Wars fandom. So cute, and so nice to see a store admit that girls like Star Wars. Like, a lot of us. Hopefully things like this will lead to more Star Wars female characters in toys and on merchandise, which is currently lacking.

crest-05e1a637392425b4d5225780797e5a763) I’m going to be doing my own personal NaNoWriMo in January because November is possibly the least ideal month for me to try to write 60,000 words, but for those of you participating and still on the wagon, keep it up! Last time I only made it ten days in, so you’re already ahead of the game. Nerdfighter and author John Green has a great pep talk to keep your spirits up: “By definition, abandoned novels are more promising than completed ones.” Wise words.

download (1).jpg4) I’m currently saving up for some THINX panties. They make a line of “period panties” that are absorbent and clean and put an end to worries about leaks and ruined underwear. I was even more thrilled to hear that they’ve introduced some styles suited to trans men who may still experience periods. Underwear shopping is super difficult for trans* individuals, and having a period when you’re a guy can be super upsetting, so it’s nice to see anything that makes life a little easier for our menstruating brothers.

31S4Idwbo1L._SY445_5) I love to wear cute dresses and skirts to work, but my office is freezing, winter and summer. Thankfully, I’ve recently discovered a great solution: Fleece-lined tights and leggings. I had no idea these were a thing until now, but they’re so wonderful. They’re comfy, warm, and let wear my favorite dresses even when cold. Also, I can put them under pants too without the bulkiness long underwear sometimes has.

 

Leave a Reply

