Five Good Things for 11/17/2015

Five things I encountered today that were interesting, educational, beautiful, edifying or that I otherwise found to be…well, good. None of these are promotions and I do not receive any benefit from sharing them. I just like them.

giphyI was a bit of a nervous wreck last night, as my husband was driving back from California through central Utah, in the middle of a blizzard, with a broken phone. So I had no way to communicate with him. I became a little anxious, to put it mildly, once he was over two hours late (although watching The Rescuers helped), but he made it back and only spun off the road once (!!). All is well and we still had some evening left to enjoy. Here are your very relieved Good Things for today.

78701) One of my favorite comfort foods is curry puffs from our local Thai restaurant. I may have indulged while I was home alone this weekend, although I’ve always wanted to make them at home. The sweet cucumber dipping sauce goes incredibly well with the rich puff pastry and curried potato filling. So satisfying!

mental-illness-art-real-monsters-012) Artist Toby Allen has re-imagined real mental illnesses as fictionalized versions of  the monsters they often feel like. From Anxiety to Bipolar Disorder to Depression, his renderings are beautiful and eerily accurate. Personally, I quite enjoy visualizing my anxiety as a tiny critter with a skull mask and a clock, that I shouldn’t feed.

3) The Onion reports on how to present a list of acceptable and unacceptable Thanksgiving dinner topics to your family. My approved topics include how amazing my turkey is and upcoming movies. The no-no list includes aliens, faith healing, and anything Bill O’Reilly said.

download4) The New York Times records a conversation between Ruth Bader Ginsberg and Gloria Steinem that just might be everything I’ve ever wanted. These badasses of women’s rights have been friends forever and cover topics both light and heavy. I love epic female friendships!

5) All the world leaders are busy at the G20 summits. Which means, the world’s most important cats are there. Obvs. Everyone’s calling them strays who “wandered” on stage, but we know know who runs the world. Cats. They run this mutha.

Leave a Reply

