Five Good Things for 10/27/2015

Five things I encountered today that were interesting, educational, beautiful, edifying or that I otherwise found to be…well, g, ood. None of these are promotions and I do not receive any benefit from sharing them. I just like them.

crabbies-ginger-beer1) Crabbie’s alcoholic ginger beer. Last night I had the dilemma of feeling stressed out and wanting a drink, but also having an upset tummy. So I grabbed a bottle of this, reasoning that ginger settles the stomach and alcohol is, well… good. I was pleasantly surprised. It’s a little on the sweet side, but I really like the flavor and the ginger isn’t so overpowering that you can’t drink too much of it. My stomach is settled and my brain soothed. Unfortunately even the internet won’t divulge the other spices that go into the unique flavor (although there’s definite some grape in there), but it’s definitely different than anything I’ve had before.

2) This is a Baby. Owl. Dancing. To “Monster Mash”. With a stuffed owl partner. You’re welcome.

Flickr_bokchoi-snowpea_4266923676--Roast_peameal_bacon3) Yes, we’ve all heard the bad news about bacon. Cancer is definitely Not Good. What’s also Not Good is poor science reporting. What is good is that this story was vastly misreported, bacon is not actually likely to be the death of you, and The Atlantic is ready to set us straight on the World Health Organization’s very problematic risk classification. And in case you were wondering, yes I did have a BLT for dinner last night. Boom.

download4) REI just announced it will be closed on Black Friday and encourages customers to instead go outside through promoting their #OptOutside hashtag. And no, they don’t mean #OptToSpendThanksgivingNightOutsideofWalmarttoScorea$99GamingConsole. I assume. I gotta give them some serious respect for this one. Yes, it’s a clever marketing scheme that will grant them a lot of goodwill and hopefully sales, but it’s smart and still promotes something positive. I don’t know if they’ve run the numbers and decided they’ll make more from people taking notice of their values than the Black Friday profits they’re giving up, or if they really are following a corporate morality, but either way I like the results. I’m hoping this is the beginning of Black Friday burnout in the culture at large.

5) Cool science alert! DNA tests on the remains of children who lived in Alaska nearly 12,000 years ago reveal some pretty interesting facts about the earliest Americans, descendants of ancient Siberians who crossed over during the last ice age. NY Times has the scoop.

Leave a Reply

