Five Good Things for 10/13/2015

Five things I encountered today that were interesting, educational, beautiful, edifying or that I otherwise found to be…well, good. None of these are promotions and I do not receive any benefit from sharing them. I just like them.

So I know, I’m super behind on my Halloween movie reviews and this is turning into the link wasteland blog. I had a migraine all weekend, so not so much with the original thoughts and writing. I’ll have my review of The ‘Burbs up tonight, I swear, and then catch up the rest of this week. But for now… more links!

1) The Age of Miracles5146tCtUipL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_ by Karen Thompson Walker. I read this a couple years ago, but it stuck with me and something made me think of it today. Written from the perspective of a young girl just reaching adolescence at the same time the rotation of the Earth begins to slow. She experiences the lengthening days and nights, the changing gravity and the changes in society along with her own personal changes of growing up. A beautiful, haunting, but somehow hopeful novel and the kind of speculative fiction I love most.

2) Do you have a dog that loves to play, but leaves a trail of discarded squeaky toys in her wake? Well, if your dogs already knows how to fetch, teaching her to clean up her toys is pretty easy. Amaze your friends and shame your children! I’m working on this with Jet… so far the hardest part is convincing him not to take everything back out again!

moby-tee-6_1024x10243) Lithographs, books on t-shirts and other apparel. Yes, you can literally wear your favorite book. I got the Adventures of Sherlock Holmes t-shirt  when they first started up and have basically worn it to death, so I went to see about a replacement and found that they’ve vastly updated their stock both in selection and design since I last looked. In fact, I’m not sure which one to pick. Help, gentle readers! Which one would you get?

allonautilus-closeup-600x4504) Is there any sea creature cooler than a nautilus? How about a fuzzy nautilus? Rare, discovered only 30 years ago, and hardly seen by scientists since then, the fuzzy nautilus has been located and documented once more. They face a lot of pressure from fishing and global climate change, so let’s hope this most recent sighting isn’t our last.

800px-Ada_Lovelace5) Today is Ada Lovelace Day! Ada wrote the first ever computer program, and what’s more amazing is she did it before computers even existed.  Never let anyone tell you programming is just for boys. So today we celebrate her and all women in STEM fields! Get involved by blogging, tweeting, or just telling someone about Ada Lovelace and/or any other awesome lady scientists, engineers, or tech wizzes you know. Not up to speed? Check out this helpful comic.

2 thoughts on “Five Good Things for 10/13/2015

Leave a Reply

