Five Good Things for 10/09/2015

Five things I encountered today that were interesting, educational, beautiful, edifying or that I otherwise found to be…well, good. None of these are promotions and I do not receive any benefit from sharing them. I just like them.

1) Life is a Braid in Spacetime. This well-written article from Nautilus Magazine on our place in the Universe, mathmatically speaking, blew my little biologist mind. I might have to read it a few more times before I really understand it, but the author makes complex physics concepts both accessible and beautiful.

41JuiS9HOFWn2xCXGdv0gltM9wb2) Blunt Talk. I can’t say enough good things about Patrick Stewart’s new show on Starz. It’s funny, dark, and deeply weird. If you didn’t already adore Mon Capitan before, you will now as he plays Walter Blunt, an aging, eccentric, but strong-minded talk show host. It’s a whole new side of our favorite commander of the Enterprise, with a strong and quirky supporting cast. Jump in now or wait until the season’s over and binge straight through.

61jPztP4hML._UY695_3) Sheep Touch Slippers. It ‘s getting cold, folks. I have this weird house that, until the heat is turned on in a few weeks, often manages to be significantly colder than it is outside. Combine that with poor circulation and I’m a serious connoisseur of socks, slippers, robes, and fingerless gloves. I got these slippers last week for my birthday and even though I wish the brand had been called “Touched by a Sheep” I can’t complain – my feet haven’t been cold since. If you suffer as I do, they are worth the price.

moana-03-8004) Disney’s upcoming “Moana” has a lead actress and some exciting art. I can’t lie, I haven’t been this excited for a Disney movie in years. Lilo and Stich might be one of my favorite movies ever so I’m thrilled that we’re going to get another feature set in the Pacific Islands, and even more thrilled that they chose a native Hawaiian voice actress for the lead. I love Moana’s character design. She looks determined and ready for an adventure. Frozen was great, but I’m happy for Disney to steer to warmer waters next winter.

Print5) Seen any teal pumpkins lately? Okay, I admit to thinking initially the Teal Pumpkin Project was a little hokey, partially because it looks a craft from Pinterest gone wrong, but after thinking about it I’m totally on board. Lots of kids have food allergies (or other medical issues) that mean Halloween candy just isn’t safe for them.  And as someone who was deprived of Halloween fun as a child, I can say no one should have to go through that! Having non-food gifts on hand will help everyone have fun this Halloween. I have a friend who’s child has severe allergies and they give out glowsticks as well as candy… I’m totally stealing her idea this year!

Leave a Reply

