Five Good Things 10/07/2015

Five things I encountered today that were interesting, educational, beautiful, edifying or that I otherwise found to be…well, good. None of these are promotions and I do not receive any benefit from sharing them. I just like them.

BitchPlanet_vol1-1_362_557_s_c11) Bitch Planet Volume 1. Guys. Guys. It’s here. FINALLY. Praise Kelly Sue. The first trade for the amazing, epic, non-compliant Bitch Planet is out. Today. I have been waiting so patiently, as I missed the first issue and have regretted it bitterly for the past year. And no, I don’t need to have to read it to know that it is most definitely a Very Good Thing. Go buy it, read it, and schedule your NC tattoo today!

download (4)2) Sweet Creme Espresso Cannoli ice cream. I had never seen this flavor until tonight. I had been struck with an ice cream craving and was staring down the Ben and Jerry’s but nothing was striking my fancy. Suddenly, my glance fell upon the store brand of all things and this little number caught my eye. It’s exactly what I wanted. Creamier than creamy with a hint of coffee flavor and little pieces of cannoli shell. If you don’t live near a Kroger, I pity you.

star-wars-the-force-awakens-captain-phasma-super-deluxe-costume-for-kids-cx-8092273) This Captain Phasma Halloween costume. I don’t even know where to start with this one. Not only are we getting Divine Goddess of the Force Gwendolyn Christie as a villain in a non-gendered, non-sexualized uniform, but now there’s a child’s costume for her character for Halloween. Not a girl’s costume. Not a boy’s costume. A child’s costume. It’s almost like we live in a world where little girls might want to dress up in something that’s neither uber feminine nor too grown up and where little boys might not suffer permanent harm from dressing up as a female character. Less good: The sexy pizza rat costume and pretty much everything Party City offers for girls.

14624827588651932854) This episode of Gizmodo’s “Meanwhile, In the Future” podcast, discussing what the future might be like if we move beyond caring about gender and treating it more like hair color, or fashion choices. There are some really interesting ideas in this episode, particularly that certain aspects of the LGBT rights movement have actually made our ideas about the innateness of gender more, not less, entrenched.

5) A compilation video of adorable owls. Really, this one speaks for itself.

Leave a Reply

