Five Good Things 10/06/2015

Five things I encountered today that were interesting, educational, beautiful, edifying or that I otherwise found to be…well, good. None of these are promotions and I do not receive any benefit from sharing them. I just like them.

BIGHARD1_263_4021) Sex Criminals. If you’re not reading this series by Matt Fraction and Chip Zdansky, you should be. I just finished Volume 2. It’s hard to say anything about the premise without spoiling it, but trust me, it’s better to be surprised. What I will say is it’s a sci-fi story that explores sexuality, sexual shame, relationships, depression, and a whole host of other sticky (yes, I know) topics in an incredibly frank and bittersweet way. Also there’s chases and fights and a lot of genitalia. Issue #13 comes out this week.

30866_d2) Strawberry Blush Rose Oolong Tea from Teavana. I got some for my birthday and I’m loving it. It’s an incredibly dainty, floral tea with all kinds of fruit and rosebuds in it. It honestly looks more like potpourri than tea but it tastes delightful. It makes me feel like I should be wearing a gown and discussing the prospects of the new bachelor at Netherfield Park. I’m going to drink it while I watch Downtown Abbey and wear a giant hat.

download (3)3) The Cosplanner App. This is my new favorite app. It lets you easily organize all the cosplays you want to do and keep track of your progress.You can store reference photos, things to make or buy, a task list, upcoming events, and even create a timeline and budget. It’s a free app, although you can upgrade for more storage/fewer ads. I whip it out any time I have an idea for a project even if I don’t know when I’m going to do it, because then I don’t forget and I can keep my eye out for things to pick up for it as I come across them. I also use it for non-cosplay craft projects. Yes, those exist.

lego-who5-480x4804) The Doctor Who Lego Set. It’s finally here!! I think this one pretty much speaks for itself, but I have to say I love that it’s not solely NuWho based. Hopefully one day we’ll get all the Doctors/companions to go with. But this is a great start. Do I have it? No. Do I lust after it? Yes. Do I want it more or less than I want this BB8 toy? Some secrets shall never be revealed.

dimetrodon5: The paleoart of Simon Stalenhag. Amazing, vivid paintings of lost worlds, dinosaurs, fish, reptiles, and birds. A lot of modern Paleoart is hyper-realistic, trying for an almost photographic feel, but Stalenhag’s is softer around the edges and more reminiscent of works painted of living wildlife. Somehow, this style makes these extinct animals and landscapes feel more real.

Leave a Reply

